Club History

Charter Date: July 14, 2008  |  Initial Membership: 37

The Kiwanis Club of the Brooksville Ridge was formed by members of the Kiwanis Club of Brooksville to allow more community members the opportunity to join Kiwanis by offering a morning meeting. Kiwanis of the Brooksville Ridge held its first organizational meeting on May 9, 2008 and the club was officially charted on July 14, 2008. Meetings were held at Country Kitchen in Brooksville.

“Charter Night” was held on September 11, 2008 at Southern Hills Golf and Country Club. The guest speaker was Major Royce Decker from the Hernando County Sheriff’s Department. A highlight of the evening was a surprise presentation of $1,500 from the Kiwanis Club of Brooksville to help the new club build the service program.

Today, the club still meets at Country Kitchen every Friday morning, 7:15-8:15 am, and there are 48 members.

What is the Brooksville Ridge?

Florida is believed to have emerged out of the sea 25 million years ago. Since then, the sea has risen and fallen, changing the size and shape of Florida. Brooksville Ridge was the shoreline of the West Coast around 2 million years ago. The Brooksville Ridge, chiefly at an elevation 50 to 100 feet, with a portion climbing to 200 feet, occupies most of the county. It extends from US-19 eastward to US-301. This area is mostly rolling, deep, sandy ridges with numerous depressions and sinks. Natural vegetation is largely turkey oak, bluejack oak, post oak, scrub live oak, and scattered long leaf pine and hardwood stands, although portions have been cleared for crops and pastures. A large portion of this area is highly developed in two communities: Brooksville and Spring Hill.

Original Charter Members

  • Marian “Mari” Claiborne
  • David Donato
  • John Ehlenbeck
  • Kim Ferris
  • C. Robert Foster
  • Brenda Frazier
  • Richard W. Garrett
  • Bill Geiger
  • Amy Gillis
  • Thomas Hammatt
  • William “Billy” W. Healis
  • Joseph Justice
  • Mark Justice
  • Christopher A. Kingsley
  • Patricia Kirkland
  • Rich Linkul
  • Beverly Lowman
  • Matthew Lowman
  • Derrill McAteer
  • Pamela Renee McKinney
  • Charlena Millhouse
  • Nick Nikkinen
  • Angelo R. Olivia
  • Jose A. Pabon
  • Justin Rooks
  • Willie J. Ruffin
  • Jason Sharp
  • Jason L. Smith
  • Scott Timothy Smith
  • William Alexander “Lex” Smith
  • Chancy Springstead
  • Don Stewart
  • Kyle Tuttle
  • Mark Taylor
  • Ron Wheeles
  • George Williams
  • Randy Woodruff

Initial Executive Committee Members

  • John Ehlenbeck, President
  • George Williams, Immediate Past President
  • Nick Nikkinen, Secretary
  • Amy Gillis, Treasurer

Community Service

Pamela McKinney served as the first Youth Services and Community Services Director. On November 15, 2008, the club held its first community service project. Volunteers met and helped landscape the New Beginnings Youth Shelter in Brooksville, FL. Thus, the tradition of giving back to the community was born.